Hope

Recently God has been challenging me about where I place my hope.  It’s too easy for it to slip into something that I do, my ministry, or my abilities, my relationships, even what people will think of me.  But all those things are at best temporary. God designed us to put our hope in HIM.

But the eyes of the LORD are on those who fear him,
on those whose hope is in his unfailing love. (Psalm 33:18)

His “unfailing love” here refers to God’s covenant with Israel.  My NIV study notes say… “the Hebrew for this phrase denotes a strong sense of goodwill, especially such as can be relied on in times of need.”

We can put our hope in his goodwill towards us.  He loves us, he even likes us!  He wants great things for us, so we can be sure that as we put our HOPE in Him we will have everything we need to do His will.

Leave a Reply

