A bit of a change

Over the past 3 years I’ve being doing relief teaching in primary schools in Dunedin.  I’m paid “20 hours” (if you know what I mean!) at church, which is a huge privilege, so the teaching has been great and it’s worked in really well.  As a kids pastor, the chance to get around primary schools and get a taste of what our kids are up to 30 hours per week has been valuable.  I’ve had the chance to see what is happening for kids in schools from a perspective that even parents don’t get.

This year has been a bit of a challenge.  Although there has been a lot of sickness around (a bonus for anyone who relies on sick people for their job), there have also been a lot more people in the relief pool.  Loads of people returning back to teaching due to economic stuff.  So just a few weeks ago I started thinking and looking around for other options…

Little did I know that God had something in mind.  The day after I talked to my pastor about it and seriously started praying into it, an opportunity came up to help look after a family part time who have tragically lost their mum earlier in the year.  It’s really more then a job, it’s a ministry.  It’s going to be quite a challenge and I’ve got loads of stuff to learn, but what an opportunity!

So If anyone wants an orange folder packed with ready to use activities for any curriculum area for year 1-8 then talk to me!  And if you like, I would appreciate some prayers.

Leave a Reply

