Careful Planning

“Careful planning puts you ahead in the long run; hurry and scurry puts you further behind.” Proverbs 21:5. (The Message)

Other traslations add in “hard work” after the careful planning bit.

This proverb is some handy dandy practical advice! I don’t know about you but I often find myself overwhelmed with the urgent and putting of the important. Sure, I have a list of things to do but I find myself busy doing the things that I feel like doing. I can end up spending hours perfecting the weekly handout, adding funk and style to that video, or re-re-organizing the supplies cupboard, only to get to the end of the week to discover that I’ve forgotten to do something really important.

The worst thing is to be doing stuff that God isn’t even asking us to do. I reckon that loads of Christians burn out because they are trying to do things that God hasn’t intended them to do.

No one would say I’m a slacker. I often have flatmates and friends telling me I work too hard, but I work too hard on the wrong things. It’s not enough to just work hard, we need to plan well too.

Here are some handy hints that have worked for me…

  • Organise the things you need to get done on a white board. I have one next to my desk that’s divided into the different areas that I’m responsible for. As soon as I find something else I need to do I write it up.
  • Each week plan what you will do and when. I work from my white board, prioritizing the things that are most important. If I don’ get something done today, I’ll add it to tomorrows list.
  • When you strike a problem that you would often spend ages working on or get distracted by, brainstorm! Grab a piece of scrap paper and write down even the craziest ideas. Often it helps to get a different perspective on the challenge.
  • PRAY! Allow God to show you the things that are on His agenda today.

Have you got any other tips or ideas?

Leave a Reply

